In retrospect, I thought this response was rather insightful, even for myself. I learnt many things along this journey of answer these sets of questions posed by a reader in one of my blog post. I post it in hope that it may be useful to you guys as well.

Soham Das-
Hi! Thank you very much for commenting and reading… First time seeing u around! I’m sorry I took so long coz I wanted to mull over some of the question that you have given so as to give you my best possible answer that I can gather from my (very) limited understanding of God and His works.

1. Why should a man repent?
Well, as Christians look at this from an eternal point of view, the reason to repent would be quite obvious. Let’s not even pull heaven or hell into the picture as of yet. If you were given chance to spend eternity with a person, would you do it with one that is constantly repenting in the course of eternity, or the unrepentant one? For even a saintly man who is unrepentant of the smallest things will slowly deteriorate into a monster when you stretch his existence over the span of eternity.

Phd cartoon

S
To give you an analogy, I would compare this to a mathematics graph, where we plot this into a time (x-axis) over character (y-axis) graph. Repentance in this case would be the change of gradient, from negative to positive. No matter where you may be plotted along the moral character, from the +1000 of Mother Teresa to the -1000 of Osama Bin Laden, if your gradient is a -2 of unrepentantance, whatever positive value you have would not remain positive for long eventually if you extrapolate the graph along the eternal timeline. On the other hand, even if you are at the infinite depths of the moral graph, even Satan: If he was to repent, even with a pathetic gradient of +0.1, given the eternal time span, he would eventually be restored to the glory of a saintly being. Hence repentance is important, and its reason is obvious, only when you view it in light of eternity.

2. If he has indeed done something wrong, then isn’t he repaid back in kind, due to the fallout of his own actions, right here, right now (I mean here and now as earth and a lifetime), then why is God bent on sending him to damnation?
This one is much simpler. I would say this is the double edged sword of delayed accounting. Then again, delayed accounting has to be here in the first place because of love. Why would you put your 5 year old kid to a drive test when you know he would fail? Love asks of you to wait in such cases. And I believe that is exactly what God is doing.

3. If God created us, and he loves us then would He intend to correct us by showing his power or by making us realize that our actions are paid to us in the same coin.
I believe this is a statement you are making with regards to question 2? Do clarify with me in any way if I misinterpreted your questions. Thanks for taking your time to read!

