Tags

, , ,

Yes I know. It’s been long since I last posted a long heartfelt entry. I figured that I can scrape by with a few nice pictures plus some creative simple/complex one-liner. Well Zach, you should have known better.

Anyway…

The university term has started and I’m still coming to terms with it (Pun intended). Many people were asking me if I was coping with campus life, but I’m not quite exactly sure how I should go about answering to that question. Outwardly, everything is fine I supposed. I know my orientation around the campus, been handing up my tutorials on time. I’m coping with the workload, getting along with project team mates. I have made my own circle of friends, decided upon my favourite canteen (hey, this is deemed to be of UTMOST importance), and even found the shortest escape route to town.

However, I think my internal orientation is the one that is screwing me up major time. I know how to get around my school compound, but I’m not quite sure where I’m supposed to head with my school life. Well, up is obviously the direction to go, but before we started on the Dean’s list and case competitions, up is a complicated direction if there’s many skies for you to aim.

I’m in the business faculty, and here’s the thing about business students: They are generally highly self motivated (by various different reasons). The environment is competitive and there is no shortage of talent around. Then remember to add in the Singaporean favourite: the fear of losing out. Throw all these elements into the wok and stand back. That’s a rough view of Singapore’s business schools.

In such an environment, everyone is dashing because they see everyone else is running. Where? God knows! This reminds me of a hilarious Japanese prank. So funny, yet painfully true. Almost everyone in business school wants to be an investment banker, because everyone else wants to be an investment banker. It’s just that some eventually succeed, the rest just die trying. I call this the “I-don’t-want-to-lose-out-yet-I-don’t-know-what-I’m-winning” mentality.

In a way, I really salute “the spirit of that old man”. He knew where he was going, and didn’t give a chicken feather if another hundred people were running in the opposite directions. Come hell or high water, he’s going to get over to the other side of the road.

Come hell or high water.

