Tags

, , , ,

I enjoyed Pastor Jeff reflective sermon yesterday. It’s one of those that called for serious introspection and self awareness. I know many people might be surprised, but I would describe myself as a thinking introvert. I enjoy long walks alone, sometimes with a friend or two that would listen to my cognitive babble as I try to make sense out of myself. Perhaps it’s an acquired habit that comes with age, but I find myself wanting to know why I’m doing what I’m doing as I grow older.

Perhaps the point about investing time is naturally built into my choleric personality. I don’t like to waste time, therefore I somehow cannot seem to identify with people who enjoy bumming/stoning around. Yet what I found myself nodding in agreement to the last point of whether if we had lived our life in the anticipation of meeting Jesus?

It seems so long seen I found someone who see thing like that! I had gone around asking people if they wanted to go heaven, but none of them are ready to die. I then asked if leaders had successors, yet saw very dependent groups. Once again, this may be due to my weird kamikaze blood in my veins, but either I’m blind or most people are not living in a way that reflects the fragility of life. No, I’m not excessively pessimistic, but I do believe that as leaders, we must be brutally honest with ourselves.

If we were to die tomorrow, would our group perish?

This question is not only for high level leaders, but the every tier of leadership. If a group would collapse upon the removal of a leader, it is then the duty of that leader to replicate another leader to take over his roles! That is one of the cores of discipleship – leadership replication. To fail to disciple would not only be the leader’s failure, but the groups’ failure as well.

Failed succession wipes away whatever successes the group previously experienced.

Yes, it is true that we must bear in mind some leaders are new, and some leaders are newly restructured into the group. I am in a similar situation myself. However, I’ve set the time line by which I must have replicated myself. Perhaps for a shepherd, it might be a month, it might be half a year for a care leader, maybe even a year for a unit leader and so. Regardless of which, we must never see ourselves playing the role permanently. Like what John C. Maxwell used to tell his staff – you must work yourselves out of your job!

Don’t be leaders who run the 4x100m race solo.

https://i1.wp.com/sportsblog.projo.com/baton0821.jpg

Some people live there’s forever; without a sense of urgency. Others play like there’s no tomorrow; without a sense of purpose. As Christians, we must live like there’s a heaven; we just might get raptured.

