Tags

, , , , ,

It’s interesting how me and my Japanese friend noted that none of the beautiful characters in Final Fantasy are completely Asian though the entire series is developed in Japan. We suspect it has something to do with how Hollywood has shaped our perspective on beauty. The general perception of a good looking person is generally white, blond and have all the other stereotypes you can think off.

Tifa

And I must admit it is true even for myself. During my first week here, I saw many beautiful people. In fact, I saw a Maria Sharapova and a Megan Fox look-like in my orientation alone! (No kidding guys…) Yet, as time slowly passes by, I have gotten used to the Caucasian faces I see on the streets, in the metro stations and even beside me.

I think it is just the classic case of allowing our worldview to be shaped by media.

Dangerous.

