Tags

,

While I was here, one of my biggest lament is that we Singaporeans are too sheltered. Our impressions of the world are mainly extrapolation from the paintings of the media and Hollywood culture. It doesn’t help that western culture is often vilified by the government and their press – just ask the media students.

Yet, all these are true. Most of us do not have a single clue about the world we are trying to reach – especially Christians. It is like trying to conqueror the Everest that we picture in photographs – sincerely inaccurate, realistically out of whack.

It was only till when I arrived here, I understood what it mean to live as a Canadian, to adopt a western perspective and even behave like one of them. Armed with the new worldview, I was determined to bring it back to my sheltered peers. However, what surprised me today in class was the the responses with regards to the films we watched regarding China, Malaysia and Indonesia. These people talk about these appalling sights of the dirty streets and the poor living conditions with such unjust and disbelief. What seems to be the usual neighboring sights to me were different paradigms for them. The Montrealer speaks of his visits to Indonesia as eye opening and perspective altering – to me, that is just Indonesia. It’s funny, but it seems like we are not the only ones who are overprotected.

We are all sheltered from each other.

Now that I have been entrusted with this fuller picture of the world, albeit it being one that is still far from completion, I wonder how am I called to steward this privilege.

After all, I am a child of two worlds.

Sarek: [to Spock] You will always be a child of two worlds, and fully capable of deciding your own destiny. The question you face is: which path will you choose?

